Meet the Team

Contact Details

Doctor Kerrin Begg


Kerrin is a Public Health Medicine Specialist, and has held a variety of management (including Hospital CEO), technical expert and governance (Board of Directors, Trustee) positions in hospital and health services across public, private, parastatal and NGO sectors. She was an independent public health and management consultant for 10 years in the fields of strategy, health policy, quality improvement, leadership and management, mentorship and coaching, performance processes, organisational design and organisational culture. Kerrin has been appointed to a number of national and international technical task teams, related to Health Policy, Quality in Health Systems and Human Resources for Health.

Dr Pavitra Pillay


Dr Pavitra Pillay is the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the Durban University of Technology. She has a Masters’ degree in Public Health and a PhD in Public Health from the University of KwaZulu-Natal. She registered as a Cytotechnologist and worked at the Regional Laboratory Services KZN, before entering academia, where she currently has 25 years’ experience. At DUT, she has worked in several roles including, Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, HOD and Deputy Dean. She has developed scholarly and professional associations with her peers and research collaborators locally, nationally and internationally.

Professor Dalena van Rooyen

Treasurer (Interim)

Professor Dalena van Rooyen is a senior academic leader with international associations, experienced researcher, educator and activist for quality transformative health professional education and training. She has extensive experience in the higher education sector, particularly relating to strategic leadership in health professionals education and have fulfilled numerous leadership positions (appointed and elected) and has served as the president of the Academy of Nursing of South Africa for a number of years. She currently holds the position of vice-dean in the Faculty of Health Sciences at Nelson Mandela University.

Dr Ramadimetja Mable Kekana


Dr Kekana is currently the Head of Department of Radiography and Chair of the School of Healthcare Sciences at the University of Pretoria, Faculty of Health Sciences. She has a Bachelor’s degree and Honours in Diagnostic Radiography, a Diploma in Tertiary Education, B Admin, M Tech Education and PhD in Education. She has also completed the ICF train the trainer course and has been awarded a Women in Leadership as well as the Program for Academic Leadership certificates.

Professor Alida Herbst

Additional Member

Professor Alida Herbst, a Registered Social Worker and Professor of Social Work, has a professional career spanning 13 years of practice experience as a Medical Social Worker at 1 Military and the MediClinic Heart and Kloof hospitals. There, she gained expertise in narrative therapy, trauma, grief, and bereavement counseling, supporting patients with chronic illnesses such as cancer and heart disease, as well as their families and caregivers.